A Few Ideas to Relieve Burnout That Will Also Simplify Your Life in the Long-Term

Heather Larson
2 min readFeb 11, 2022

--

I keep hearing people say, “Everyone is burnt out after the past two years.”

For once, I’m NOT burned out!

I thought I’d share what’s worked for me in hopes you can try some of these tips for more energy in your own life.

Rest.

There’s no replacement for rest. You can’t buy it, you can’t fake it.

It’s not a big, sexy thing.

But it could be. Rest is a flex. Having free time is a flex. To get it, you have to re-organize and re-prioritize your life. Or take a vacation. But if you’re burned out on all fronts, it’s your first option.

Let These Things Go:

  • Arguing with people on social media who have different opinions.
  • Following news & politics on social media or watching/reading “the news.”
  • Anything that creates friction in your daily life.
  • Turn off notifications on your phone, tablet, & laptop.
  • Stupid chores. At the height of my burnout from working in the addiction treatment industry, I paid someone to do my laundry. BEST gift I gave myself.
  • Draining habits. Ex: I used to go to the grocery store almost daily which was a time & money suck. Now I plan, make a list, and go no more frequently than once a week.

Ask for Help

When you’re burned out, there’s always a way out. It may not be easy to ask, but you can ask for help. At the end of 2018, I was so burned out, I asked my boss to cut back my hours.

I told him I planned to make my side hustle my main hustle.

He granted my wish and told me he could see how successful I’d become pursuing what I was passionate about — a kindness I’ll never forget!

This post was created with Typeshare

--

--

Heather Larson

Hi 👋 I’m Heather Larson! I’m data-driven content writer coming from traditional media. I’m a veteran broadcaster, radio personality, and journalist.