Get to Know Your Solar Plexus Chakra

Heather Larson
5 min readJan 5, 2022

The solar plexus chakra bridges your upper (heart, throat, third eye, crown) chakras to your lower chakras — the root and sacral. Your solar plexus is the center of your body and also a center of nerves. Its corresponding color is yellow and its Sanskrit name, “Manipura” means lustrous gem.

Increase your awareness about your solar plexus chakra, or Manipura. Graphic by Heather Larson.

So what’s the deal with the lustrous gem of our 7-chakra system?

In balance, your solar plexus chakra is about respect for yourself and others. This includes respect you extend to yourself about matters of your to-do list.

When this chakra is too “open,” this chakra goes to the dark side of workaholism and anger, and no one wants that. It goes from the “get it done” chakra to the “doing too much” chakra. A solar plexus chakra that’s too open can reflect judgmental behavior or your need to feel superior.

A Blocked Solar Plexus Chakra

When it’s “blocked” or its energy is “sluggish,” your solar plexus energy can reflect a loss of confidence by showing up as a worry about what others think. You may fear your own company or suffer insecurity.

A Balanced Solar Plexus Chakra

A balanced solar plexus chakra has the energy of confidence, self-respect, and an awareness of…



Heather Larson

Hi 👋 I’m Heather Larson! I’m data-driven content writer coming from traditional media. I’m a veteran broadcaster, radio personality, and journalist.