I’m Excited to Start 🚢 Ship 30 for 30 Monday!

Heather Larson
4 min readJan 1, 2022

Here’s what #Ship30for30 is for writers and why I’m stoked to be doing it!

Photo by Maximilian Weisbecker on Unsplash

Welcome Aboard!

I’ve joined the January 2022 cohort of Ship 30 for 30, led by Dickie Bush and Nicolas Cole. The program bills itself as, “A cohort-based course teaching you the fundamentals of writing on the internet.”

The idea here is you create (ship = write) content online daily by writing atomic (short) essays for 30 days. The idea of “shipping” may be unfamiliar to some. Seth Godin uses it and so does the DevOps community. (I write B2B SaaS content, but coming from journalism, I haven’t talked about “shipping” much in this context).

Here’s Why I’m Shipping:

  • I really want new writer friends.
  • I want community.
  • I want traction for my ideas.
  • I want to grow an audience.
  • I want to learn.
  • I want new skills as a writer.

I have a Consistent, Daily Writing Habit — Now What?

I’ve written daily since November 1st with no days off. I don’t want days off from writing; I enjoy it. I did NaNoWriMo in November and completed my novel.

--

--

Heather Larson

Hi 👋 I’m Heather Larson! I’m data-driven content writer coming from traditional media. I’m a veteran broadcaster, radio personality, and journalist.